Running

10 Miles

In 2015 I ran 218.80km all year. In 2016 I ran 234.27km all year. So far in 2017 I have already run 114.49km and we are only just 4 months into the year. I have two half marathons this year, plus a ten mile run in October and a few 5ks throughout the summer just to keep me busy.

Every now and again I need to take a step back and just be happy that I’m getting out there and running. It’s really easy to get hung up on the bad stuff like what crap I’m eating and how I never seem to lose weight. But I really am doing it.

20170402_114234
I only went and flipping did it.

On Sunday I ran 10 miles with my running buddies. It was a lovely day, the weather was just perfect. We took on the ‘The Big Track’ which is a cycle and walking route around the canal paths of Nottingham. It starts at Beeston Marina and takes you past famous Nottingham sights. It was a fabulous route. I was a bit apprehensive to start with; 10 miles is a long way, and when I attempted this distance a couple of weeks ago I just stopped short of 10 miles. Despite being a little anxious, I was also feeling really determined and just threw myself into it.

I reminded myself throughout the run to keep a steady pace, not to race ahead and to keep my breathing under control. I’ve also been trying to change my running style a bit, after recently being told by a physio that many new runners develop knee problems due to taking long strides, so I’ve been trying to run like I’m running over hot coals. It really is quite a feat to completely change your running style, but I’ve made a start at least.

The last mile was a killer, but there was no way I was giving up. A lot of my group had already finished their 10 miles and were waiting at the end for me and another lady from the group. We both had our determined heads on, and pushed through whatever pain and discomfort we were feeling. I just kept going, eagerly wishing for my watch to announce my 10th mile with a beep. Then, there is was – BEEP! I stopped dead on 10 miles.  The sun was shining and I was one happy girl indeed.

We headed back towards the cars and sat together outside a cafe with our tea and cake (no cake for me mind, no sugar and all that) and we congratulated each other on how well we had done. I could have easily spent another 2 or 3 hours just chatting with the girls about running and all our goals and aims.  I, like some of the others, have booked a fair few races for this year. We all have our different reasons. For some its a way to continuously train and improve on their running. For me, its to make sure I keep going.

One of the biggest mistakes I ever made after the half marathon in 2015 (GNR), was to stop running. I really wish I’d never done that. However, if I had carried on running, I would never have attended that beginners running session back in May last year and I would never have met my amazing running friends, who are seriously the real reason I keep going.

Every cloud and all that..

 

Leave a Reply

