Stuff

Mo Running, Mo Sleepy.

I haven’t posted in a while; I haven’t wanted to, I don’t want to now but feel I should so will persevere. Advance warning this will probably be mainly about running, so if that bores you then you best switch off now.

Ah training, I’d like to say its been fun, but it’s just been tiring. Alongside my training for a 10K (which incidentally is 3 weeks tomorrow – aahh!) I have also been learning to swim. I always thought I could swim, but it has become apparent at my last few lessons that I just knew how to float and flap my arms and legs around, not swim. I have been practicing though and think I am improving.
A couple of months ago I went to cheer on a friend who was doing an open water 10K swim, and I have to say I was very inspired. I’m not saying I’m going to be signing up to any major swimming events any time soon, but it is something I would like to do one day. One thing at a time though, got to get my running in order.
So, as I have already mentioned, I have a 10K coming up in 3 weeks. Its not a race, its more of a fun run. I’m actually kind of mad at myself for entering, I only entered this one because its so close to home, but I am annoyed. My two 5K runs were both fun runs, and whilst everyone was incredibly supportive, they didn’t really feel serious. I guess that’s the thing with fun runs and fundraisers, its not about how well you’ve done, but how much money you have raised. I am happy that I raised almost £200 for the MS Society, however for this 10K race I have chosen not to fund-raise. The 10K is part of Movember, which raises money for Prostate Cancer charities, and whilst (obviously) I am not a bloke and cannot grow a ‘mo’, they do encourage ‘Mo Sistas’ to get involved in other ways. So I have, with a run. But this run is for me, and that’s why I feel bad. I was looking for a 10K run, not a charity to fund-raise for. I’ve paid my £22 to enter – which will go to the charity, and I will probably dress up on the day in some silly outfit including a mustache and the possibility of a sombrero, but I won’t be raising money. I also don’t think anyone else would give money. Times are tough, it’s close to Christmas (c-bomb, sorry for lack of warning) and no-one wants to give me money again when they only just sponsored me a couple of months ago. All I can hope is that no-one actually asks me how much I have raised..that could be awkward.

The training for the run is kind of coming along, although in my opinion I am still too slow. I’ve read on various training plans, that on my level I should be able to run a mile in 10 minutes, but the best I have managed so far is 12:20. Ideally I wanted to get this run done in just over an hour, but that is not looking likely. I’ve got a practice run in 2 weeks, so we’ll see.

Other than all the running, I have been studying – hard. I’m really struggling with my studies, yet seem to be getting fairly good results from my assignments. My third assignment is due next week so I’ll be finishing it this weekend.

As per usual I do have some count downs, I hope you are ready for this, it’s rather epic:

  • 54 days until Christmas
  • 45 days until Centerparcs
  • 41 days until we see Placebo
  • 22 days until 10K
  • 21 days until we see Jason Manford
  • 20 days until mine and Mike’s 10 year anniversary

Some things to be happy about 🙂

S

Leave a Reply

