Stuff

Mojo, parties and the good old British Summer!

There is a lot going on at the moment so I decided it was about time I did another entry. One of the biggest changes in my life at the moment has been an addition to the household; Mojo.

Mojo is a ten week old kitten, he is beautiful and I have totally fallen for him. Mojo pretty much always gets his own way with me, although I am trying to be tougher on him – its difficult to shout at something so cute but I know he needs to learn. For example, he is NOT allowed to jump up on to the curtains. He is left in the kitchen during any period of time that we are not in the house and when we go to bed. This may change when he gets older – but at the moment he cannot be trusted not to trash the place while we sleep.

Yesterday was a good day, we drove ‘daaan saaf’ to Helen and James’ house for a BBQ party which was thrown for my auntie Wendy’s 70th. I love it when the whole family gets together, and despite the fact a lot of the time it was either chucking it down or very breezy and cold, we all stayed outside and had a good time. I think the alcohol helped – with the cold that is, we would have all had a good time anyway…argh who am I kidding – the alcohol definitely helped.

Another major change I made recently – although a reoccurring thing, is I am back to running and losing weight (yay!) After taking what felt like a year off – it was actually 6 months, I’m back on it. I’ve lost 5 lbs in the last 2 weeks and already on week 4 of the couch to 5k. I decided to start right back at the beginning, instead of where I left off 6 months ago because I knew my fitness level had gone back to crap again so I needed to start at 60 seconds running, 90 seconds walking etc. Today, despite having a slight hangover (I didn’t drink that much yesterday, I’m just a lightweight, and I’m blaming my cousin Helen who insisted I drink immediately, every time she saw me with an empty glass in my hand) I still got up and went for a run in the pouring rain. It was actually really nice and refreshing – and when its raining there aren’t many people out – its one of the best times to run if you are self conscious. I was really glad I did it anyway. In total I ran for 16 minutes – I know there is walking in between, but I do keep a really brisk pace so I don’t slow down that much at all.

Finally, we are planning a couple of parties of our own. We initially wanted to have one big party  which all our friends and family could come to. I wanted a Mexican theme. I can’t exactly remember why, but I remember wanting it and then not letting it go. Unfortunately quite a lot of our family who we would want to be there cannot make it, so we’ve decided to throw another one (hey, why not?) in August. This one will be all family, so should be good fun. Still looking forward to the Mexican Fiesta though – a lot of people have confirmed that they are coming. I’ve now got a lot of planning to do. I think I’m going to make some paper chains – they are really cheap decorations and they still look good at a party. We’ll have a mixture of different Mexican food – and some non-spicy stuff too, as well as a BBQ on the go. Both parties should be really good fun – I really can’t wait.

I think that’s all for the moment..plus I can hear dinner coming towards me, off I go…

S

Leave a Reply

