Stuff

Plan A.


SamIts Tuesday 14th August 2012.

4 months ago I decided to start a new blog on WordPress. I wrote my first post on 10th April 2012. The post was about a load of new plans I had to change my life. I didn’t publish it. I’m not sure exactly why I didn’t publish it – I had every intention to, but I think something within me knew that all the brand new promises I was making to myself were going to be broken and I didn’t want to have to type another post about how I had failed.

I don’t know what made me think of it today, but I decided to read the post I had written on 10th April 2012 and to my surprise I have actually kept to a couple of the things I said I would do.

So here it is – me and my brain 4 months ago, I’ll comment on the bits I have been successful with…

On my Posterous blog I mentioned I had a plan. The plan takes place here at my new WordPress blog. I moved blogs mainly because Posterous is a bit of a pain at the moment and this looks easier.

So, back to the plan. Yes… I’ve come up with another plan, another idea –something else for me to do unsuccessfully. But this time there is one difference – I am not thinking negatively about it. Those of you who have read my blogs before will know I am totally incapable of sticking to a plan and I tend to quit things rather a lot. I think this has a lot to do with the fact that when I start something I already know that I am going to be quitting it in 2 months time, so I don’t really even put in the effort. This really needs to change.

So the first thing I have done in my bid to stop quitting and make some changes in my life is to enrol on a course. Yep, home learning. I have to commit 10 hours a week to study and I will have assignments. The course is a business and administration course, and the good thing about it is how strict it is. For example, once I have been assigned to my tutor I have 4 weeks to complete my first assignment and I have to complete the course by 26th July. That may seem far away but its only 4 months. If I quit the course or fail to hand an assignment in I must pay £65. This is because the course is free, and they have to recover their fees somehow. So that in itself should be a reason to spur me on. [I did enrol on the course, and I have now completed all my assignments, just waiting for my final mark – go me!]

The second thing I would like to do is change my lifestyle/health choices. By this I mean eating things that are easy to eat, rather than cooking something which is actually good for me. This requires me to NOT BE LAZY. The fact that I will be doing the course as well will hopefully mean I am more motivated in general anyway. I don’t mean to sound like I’m spouting excuses, but when I get home from a day at work – the last thing I want to do is cook up a magnificent dinner for two. I just want to stick some pasta on the boil and stir in a sauce. Sometimes not even that. So number two is cooking healthier food. [I have started cooking healthier food, 4 weeks ago I joined Weight Watchers online and I’ve lost half a stone – go me, again!]

Finally, probably my most contentious point, but still essential, is exercise. Urgh I hate that word. Whilst out for a walk with my mum, dad and husband at the weekend I realised how unfit I am. A simple walk around the local country park had me knackered and by the time we got back to the car I had taken my jumper off and my face was bright red. I know I have a higher chance of getting diabetes (runs in the family) or heart disease at my weight too. Don’t get me wrong, I DO NOT wish to be thin, not at all – I love my curves and always have done. I just want to be healthy. There are plenty of people who are a size 12/14 and are perfectly fit and healthy. I, however am a size 18 (I don’t care who knows) and feel way too big for my height at only 5’ 5”. [Still a bit of a sticking point unfortunately, BUT I’ve purchased a new swimming cozzie which actually fits and I was thinking about taking up running/jogging]

This will all hopefully make me healthier and happier. My brain will actually be stimulated in the evenings with my course work rather than soap operas.

My blog will be used basically as a journal for how I am getting on with these goals. I’ll post weigh-ins, pictures of my food, before and after pictures (if the result is a good one) and just general updates. This may be of no interest to anyone else, but it’s something I feel I need to do – and the only way I will achieve these goals is if my successes and failures are posted up here for everyone to see. [I’m not sure about the weigh-ins and pictures of food thing, however I am writing a separate blog on the Weight Watchers website which is only accessible to members, so I was considering putting my posts on here too..]

I’m not going to set myself a start date on here, although I have one in mind. I will post again once I have started as I have a few things to get in place before this can happen.

If there is anyone else out there who wants to join me on my healthy living journey then let me know. Maybe we could do this as a joint thing and regularly post updates on our progress. It doesn’t have to be about weight loss – it can be about anything, a project, something new happening in your life, or a positive change you might be making. [I’m not quite sure exactly what I was thinking at this particular moment, but I guess it’s still do-able].

I think its really interesting that most of the things I wrote about, I have actually been, or started to be successful with. I think subconsciously I knew that this time had to be different and that there is no quitting allowed.

S

1 thought on “Plan A.”

Leave a Reply

